Fragments of Me (Words)

840578ea-e82b-4a9c-acea-05b865509920

Fragments Of Me  (Words)

My father emphasized the importance of being a man of your word.

My mother recited sticks and stones may break your bones but words will never hurt you.

I remember the night I learned about the power of words.

We visited a friend of my father. Mingling adults with drinks in hand and hyperactive children filled every room of the dinner party.

Not interested in watching my father drink, I sought refuge.

To my surprise I discovered an oasis as I entered a room of wall to wall books. Nearing a shelf, a closing door startled me.

“Did I scare you?” Robert the home owner asked.

Silent, my gaze returned to the books.

Robert sat behind a large wood desk, “Do you like to read?”

Looking at the man with the graying temples and thick framed glasses, I smiled, “Yeah.”

“Did your father tell you I am a writer? I haven’t published anything, but I love to write stories. Writers create worlds.”

He opened a book. “Read it.”

“It was the best of times it was the worst of times…”

“Isn’t that amazing?” Robert interrupted, “What a wonderful quote; a great description of the French Revolution and a fitting description of our lives.”

Robert got up to leave. “Feel free to enjoy the books. You will find beauty on every page.”

Running fingers along the books, I read the name out loud; Wilde, Orwell, Hemingway, Faulkner, Steinbeck, Dickinson.

Minutes later, the door opened. “What the hell are you doing here?”

The anger in my father’s voice sent chills up my spine.

His hand slapped the back of my head. “Plenty of girls out there and you’re in here. My son is not going to be a faggot.”

Exiting the room, a heavy foot kicked me, lifting me off my feet, slamming me into a wall.

My eyes swelled with tears, but I refused to cry.

Hours later that little boy stood at his bedroom window while his parents slept in the other room.

That night he learned some words create amazing beauty.

While the pain of other words linger long after the bruises have healed.

 

Fragments Of Me

Fragments of Me (Heroes & Butterflies)

Fragments Of Me (Time)

239 thoughts on “Fragments of Me (Words)

  1. words no doubt have power ! the comments i read say it too 🙂 see you got so many kind words, love and warmth from your blogger family 🙂 enriching you and passing on the message to fathers like your father as well
    wish you peace, health and more wisdom

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So terrible, I am sorry you had to endure such a thing. This is such a powerful story, with an equally powerful reminder. I hold those scars too, they still string a bit. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oh, I love reading Fragments of me and I would repeat it each time you publish one for us, the readers. I feel sad for the boy but again whatever happens, it happens for good. I would settle with that. 🙂 Nice one as always.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. In those moments, the boy started to become the man of words we know now. In the midst of trouble, a ray of hope spreads in the boy’s sky.
    I loved reading it again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a sad and beautiful truth. My Pa was a writer but he was also tough like yours. Words like that do leave last memories. I was wondering after my Pa passed why he was like that so tough and absolute. He left me all his writings and photos sometimes I open his briefcases just to catch a whiff of him. He was a man that stood for principle but it got messed up along the way. I’m not sure how or why but his absence is so very missed in our family. Thank you for sharing your beautiful story. In a way your father’s words in an odd way caused you to follow your dream to write even if out of hidden hurt and spite. Sending a warm hug. This creative side is a tender one isn’t it? I’m thankful you share it here. I’ve found it very healing. I’ve been blogging here for 3 years and met some wonderful lifelong friends. I think words were the draw. I was drawn to the site name WordPress because this is what I do for a living and I felt I would fit in here somewhere even if no one reads my blog I’m happy to share and get to know the deeper side of those I call friend. Like you. Have a beautiful day. I love this post. I see 3 others I’ve bookmarked to read later. I always think to myself you never know who’s reading that might need what it is you have to share. I believe that snout words. We need them and sometimes we don’t even know it till later we are quieted a little moe. I love it when that happens. 🌸🌸🎈🎈💕

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping by to read it. This series means so much to me. They make for good therapy and actually start conversations of healing with fellow bloggers who share similiar stories. As for the subject of words – I believe most bloggers are hear for connections and their love of words. I know that is why I wirte. Thanks for reading. Happy you appreciated it. Actually, I will be reposting the first one tomorrow, that one is about childhood crushes. Thanks and be well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

