Books That Inspire Lonely Author

Here is a list of books that have inspired Lonely Author. (Please remember I am talking books not movies that Hollywood butchered).

1- Of Mice and Men (John Steinbeck)     My all-time favorite

2- The Godfather (Mario Puzo)     The book that made me want to write.

3- The Bell Jar (Sylvia Plath)

4- The Five People You Meet In Heaven (Mitch Albom)     Tissues please.

5- The Secret (Rhonda Byrne) Only non-fiction book. It is a life changer.

6- 1984 (George Orwell)

7- Don Quixote de la Mancha (Miguel de Cervantes)

8- The Winds of War (Herman  Wouk)

9- The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (L. Frank Baum)  Sparked my imagination.

10-The Time Traveler’s Wife (Audrey Niffenegger)

11- The Hunt For Red October (Tom Clancy)

12- For Whom The Bell Tolls (Ernest Hemingway)

13- A Time To Kill (John Grisham)

14- The Alienist (Caleb Carr)

15- The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (Stieg Larsson)

16- The Witching Hour (Anne Rice)

17- Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)

18- A Tale of Two Cities (Charles Dickens)

19- Rage of Angels (Sidney Sheldon)

20- The Bad Place (Dean Koontz)

 

images

 

 

121 thoughts on “Books That Inspire Lonely Author

  1. I came here to tell you a great news: I have not read any of those books 😀

    Though I have watched many films based on those books. It might not be the same thing but both of us know the stories. 🙂

    I have always been looking for reading “Catcher In The Rye” which is a hot shot amongst conspiracy buffs but couldn’t 😀

    Today I learnt that your blog is an award free blog. Thanks 🙂

    Love and light ❤

    Anand 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many great books to read…so little time to read them ALL. It’s amazing how much power can be found behind the written word. Used in a positive manner, it can change and even create a new life by influencing our thought patterns and thought processes. The pen truly is mightier than the sword.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Could you please check out my article ’10 books worth your time’? Mitch Albom is my favourite author and Rhonda Byrne’s books are very inspiring. I love your list and I guess we have a lot in common. The time traveller’s wife is a great read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I recognize every one of these books although I have never read any of them. Actually, I have only read one book in my entire life. There must be some deep, dark, hidden reason for that but I’m at the point now, where I don’t want to know. I have seen several of the movies that are based on the books. Don’t get me wrong. Loser was an avid reader and although I didn’t share that avenue (much to his chagrin) I did develop a reverence for books. I would never throw one away or deface it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Truly…. dedicating time for a STORY book is long gone… one that hurt me and shattered emotionally was ENDLESS NIGHT— Agatha Christie.
    However real life incidents or even more devastating mentally. We all broken creatures can turn out to be good authors.
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a great list. I don’t think I could pick a favorite out of the ones I’ve read. But I have been thinking about 1984 lately, and how I see it reflected in our world often. I just this morning finished the book I’ve been reading (“Acedia & Me,” by Kathleen Norris). Maybe I’ll choose one of these as my next read.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My favorite book is A Time To Kill. I have all of John Grishams books and they are autographed. He is from this area. I bet you didn’t know A Time To Kill has a sequel. The name of it is Sycamore Row. I haven’t read it yet but I am going too. Happy Thanksgiving.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great list , read most of them ! My youngest daughter is reading 1984 , and I’ve read a lot of John Grishman’s books until I got a bit tired of the genre but I liked a lot two of his last ones that I read two years ago.
    And my list would surely include Daniel Silva. Have you read anything by him?
    Happy Thanksgiving 🙂
    Turtle Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was delighted to see John Steinbeck’s book at the top of the list. He’s one of favourite authors. I read Of Mice and Men at school and it left a huge impression on me. I also read The Pearl and Grapes of Wrath but the first book was my favourite. I even quoted it one of my blog posts. Orwell’s 1984 and Animal Farm were significant to me also along with Wyndam’s, The Chrysalids and Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. There are many on your list I haven’t read so I will give some a go when I get the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You should also read Ninety Minutes in Heaven and The Shack. American Sniper, as well. All 3 are excellent books. The movie of American Sniper I was very upset with. Nothing like the book at all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • My reading habits can be eclectic. A couple of years ago, I sat on the NY subways reading the Twilight series and getting the strangest looks. I had to clarify that about Hollywood. Anyone who saw “The Time Traveler’s Wife” without reading the book wouldn’t know how good that book was. How many times have you told yourself, “the book was better?” Hey, thanks for stopping by. I really appreciate it. Have a great evening.

      Like

Leave a Reply

